phone email

Kindly donate now using MyCharity

My Charity logo and link

A publication in the journal Cancer reviewed all publications about Quality of Life of survivors of Stem Cell transplants.The authors Dr R Chakaborty and colleagues reviewed over 450 publications and only felt that 24 (5%) yielded any meaningful information. I am glad to say that the Open Window study carried out in the Denis Burkitt Unit was among the 5%.

The Open Window Team. Denis Roche, Catherine McCabe and Fran Hegarty

ow team


Welcome to the Bone Marrow for Leukaemia Trust Website

Welcome and thank you for visiting the Bone Marrow for Leukaemia Trust website. We are a charity specifically dedicated to supporting people in Ireland who have leukaemia, lymphoma or myeloma and have had or may need a  stem cell transplant.

We provide direct support for patients and their relatives – especially recognising the support needed for those coming from outside Dublin.  We also support the running of the Haematology Department in St James Hospital, Dublin, in the national allogeneic transplant centre.  It is the only location where an adult can receive a sibling or matched unrelated donor stem cell transplant.


Join our Team in the Amalfi Coast & isle of Capri

 Walking Challenge  2015

September 12th – September 19thh  2015

This year our annual fundraising walk will take you to the Amalfi Coast and the Island of Capri.The whole Amalfi coast is a hikers paradise. The entire peninsula of Sorrent is criss-crossed with ancient walking paths leading over the rocky landscape from one hamlet to the next. You will walk on paths already in use for many centuries, often carefully built with stone steps and well maintained. You will experience breathtaking views down to the always present sea as far as Capri, interestingly shaped rocks, mountains and traces of hundreds of years of cultivation.

The island of Capri is one of the most picturesque and visited locations in Campania. Its unique beauties were celebrated in ancient times and later published for the world in Homer’s works. Odysseus (known in Latin as Ulysses) sailing past the island, narrowly escaped the fate of those who hear the voices of the Sirens. Capri is a walker’s paradise, full of incredible views and scenery.

  bmlt cover images



Would you like to win yourself a Mercedes-Benz C class and help the Bone Marrow for Leukaemia Trust at the same time? First prize is the Mercedes, but there are also runner up prizes for 2nd, 3rd and 4th. Not only could you win a prize, but you will helping a very good cause at the same time.

  • 1st Prize – A Mercedes-Benz C class Petrol
  • 2nd Prize – €3,000
  • 3rd Prize – €1,000
  • 4th Prize – €1,000

Tickets are €20 each or 6 for €100. To Purchase a ticket from The Bone Marrow for Leukaemia Trust call 0852324385 or email

Get 1 Free Ticket

1. Request a book of raffle tickets from The Bone Marrow for Leukaemia Trust by calling 0852324385 or emailing

2. Sell a book of 5 tickets

3. Return the book and €100 to The Bone Marrow Leukaemia Trust

4. The 6th ticket in the book is a free entry into the draw for the seller.

In the fight against leukaemia and blood related diseases.All proceeds raised go directly to the Bone Marrow for Leukaemia Trust.


Latest News:

Denis Roche, Research Fellow @ The National College of Art and Design (NCAD) and Professor Shaun McCann have been invited to speak at a meeting 'Art, Design and New Technology for Health' at the prestigious Victoria and Albert Museum (V&A).

They will address the subject of 'Designing digital environments for health-reconciling isolation, and connectivity' at the conference on June 19th. They will base their talks on the Open Window project and the recent exhibition:' Blood: not for the faint hearted'. in the Science gallery in TCD which attracted over 100,000 visitors.

      ShaunMcCann                                                                                              denis roche